Weird Cleopatra leaves-pics

(Nadine) Devers, TX(Zone 9b)

I been watching my Cleopatra canna grow up..The leaves are totally weird out on me..will post when it blooms for me..

***Pic of the bloom below****

This message was edited Jul 3, 2008 8:05 AM

Meesage--updated pic ..scroll down and see the daughter of this canna I grew from seed..

This message was edited Nov 25, 2008 3:10 PM

Thumbnail by Moodene
Winnsboro, TX

Hey Moodene, the canna leaves on your Cleopatra are what some gardeners wait years for to see. Alot of them will just have small areas of the purplish dark color on them. Consider yourself one of the lucky ones. Thanks for sharing the photo with all of us. Very Nice indeed!
Marian

Oh really!! Thanks for the heads up...I will be watching for the blooms now..lol...

That is sooo cool . This is my first year to grow Cleopatra ,mine has a wide stripe down the middle of each leaf . I find the blooms are just as interesting .The yellow polka dot petal on the left is attatched to the same petal as the red/orange .But after the blooms fell off a couple of weeks ago ,and the canna rebloomed the flowers were solid red/orange. Now I go out every day to check it out to see if anything new is going on...lol I can't wait to see what your blooms will look like. So be sure to post some pics.

Thumbnail by flowerpower57
Nauvoo, AL(Zone 7a)

Some of my Cleopatras had solid Maroon leaves and had mostly red blooms on them with a few yellow streaks in the red blooms.
I have noticed over the past 9 years that if my cleopatra had more green leaves then i had more yellow blooms, if it had more red leaves then it had more red blooms. One of my favorites Cause it is always different.

Pretoria, South Africa

I just love your Cleopatra's leaves. Definitely have to keep my eyes open for a plant....

Hey CricketsGarden , I am going to keep a watch out on the leaves and flowers and see what happens.