Composting??

Myrtle Beach, SC(Zone 8b)

I am new to this process. Could someone give me the basics. I know about coffee grounds egg shells etc. I'm interested in composting leaves and weeds etc.!!

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Just throw in any organic matter and it will rot. Shoot for a C:N ratio of 30:1. Keep moist, adding moisture as you build the pile. Not wet, just moist. If it stinks, add more carbon. Aerating occasionally by flipping the whole pile from point A to point B (with a garden fork or shovel) will help a lot and speed it up.

Or, just throw stuff in a pile and, eventually, it will rot on it's own. Very easy.

Karen

Myrtle Beach, SC(Zone 8b)

Well, you can't beat that for easy!! Right up my alley! Thanks-

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Really, some of us make it comparable to rocket science. That's more for fun than necessity.

Hot compost will break down faster. A compost thermometer keeps it interesting but is in no way necessary. If you end up with a stinky pile, don't worry. Most of us do that a time or two until we get the hang of it. If it gets smelly, let dry some and add carbon.

Chopping matter into smaller pieces will cause it to break down faster, too.

Also, another thing to remember- if you ever want a batch of finished compost, at some point you have to stop adding to one pile and start a new one. Otherwise, you can keep trying to harvest from the bottom, but I think that's a pain.

There are all kinds of tricks of the trade, but, as I said, anything will rot eventually. If you want more compost more often, you have to manage it some- monitor temp, moisture, aerate, etc. But these things are not necessary.

Karen

Burwash Weald, United Kingdom(Zone 9b)

Oh, Karen - I love the simplicity of that, but most of all the 'but that's more for fun....' comment! Absolutely true - keep it simple, unless you find it 'more fun' with complexity. Thank you.

NORTH CENTRAL, PA(Zone 5a)