time to start a second crop.

Hagerstown, MD(Zone 6b)

I asked on another thread how many plants for 3 people and was told since what I am growing don't take long to harvest I could do a second crop. When can I start the second crop and which of the veggies don't like the summer heat?

I am interested in doing more
sweet peas(little marvel)
sugar snap peas
broccoli ( early dividend hybrid)
brussel sprouts (catskill)

This is my first year with these veggies so I don't know which hate the heat and won't do well.

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

All of those are cool season crops.

Pembroke Pines, FL(Zone 10a)

Corn, Okra, peppers, carrots, cherry tomatos, etc should do well in your area!

Hagerstown, MD(Zone 6b)

Thank you, I just started the carrots, corn and lima's.

Pembroke Pines, FL(Zone 10a)

My season is winding down for two-three months as the sun will burn up everything except Okra and I only grow it for my DIL as I can't stand the slimy stuff. I plant my tomato seeds August 15 for final planting October 15. That is when I come back to life if you know what I mean!! LOL

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

Paw,
I'm planting seeds June 15th for final planting July 31st. You think I'm too early for a fall crop here in Houston?

Lodi, CA(Zone 9b)

What is a final planting? Please forgive my ignorance..

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

TPlant,

Okra is great if you don't cook it too much. That's when it gets slimy -- it's overcooked. There is a Cajun restaurant here in town that has pickled okra on their salad bar. I get the salad bar just so I can load my plate with that pickled okra. I'm going to try pickling my own this year.

Karen

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)

probably a fall planting is the final planting. I would guess.

We're growing everything right now. except cool weather crops. which we did't get to grow at all cause all the spinach and brocolli bolted as soon as it got big enough to. our weather has been so weird here.