Shelbourne Falls Flower Bridge

Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

I try to visit Shelbourne Falls, MA, at least once a year to see the amazing flower bridge, but this is the first time I had a digital camera along. The bridge once carried an old trolley line, but after that went to interurban heaven, the local flower club decided to create a memorial to their war veterans and each year fill it with flowers.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

Here is their explanatory plaque. NOTE: I am not an expert photographer, and in addition have reduced the resolution of these pictures to make them upload faster. You should see this attraction yourself to get the full effect. The town has many art galleries and stores and you can easily spend a pleasant afternoon here.

This message was edited Jun 1, 2008 11:05 PM

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

This was on June 1, 2008. The flowers are often replaced seasonally. I remember that in fall leaf-peeping time, there are a great many dinner-plate sized dahlias along the bridge.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

The flowers along the bridge proper are mostly sun loving varieties, but along the northern approach there are several shade gardens.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

They have many bushes and trees planted along the bridge even though the soil bed looks quite shallow. The Deerfield river is in the background here.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

There were several different specimens of these along the path. New to me, they look something like Passionflowers.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

I wish my lupes were as fat as these!

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

I admire alliums that stand up straight. Better picture of the river, too.

Thumbnail by DonShirer
Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)