Lets talk natives!!

Adelaide, Australia(Zone 10a)

Since I'm relatively new to Aussie natives (being a US ex-pat), I have decided to experiment and have a native only bed under the Callistamon tree in our front garden. The bed is coming up to a year now. I've lost a Darwinia citriodora, Banksia 'Birthday Candles', two Leptospermums, and one Crowea.

What has thrived: Myoporums, Eremophilias, Correas, Kennedia prostrata, Prostantheras, Goodenia, Alyogynes (can't recommend those enough!!).

Yes, I have alkaline soil!!!

I need to shift an Olearia and one of the Prostantheras. Anyone know if they are ok with that and if so, when is the best time to move them??

My native bed:

Thumbnail by khopton

Hi K ...I am no expert on natives, but I do know they hate to be moved ...hate fertilizer ...hate wet feet and love neglect so good luck ...I am sure one of the experts will give you some good advice.(Ispeak from my own experience/I live on heavy clay)
My natives are
She Oaks
Bottlebrush
Grevillias
Black Bean trees
Grasstree (rescued from the tip)
That is all I can keep alive around here because of the wet feet/ fertilizer thing ...I tend to hurl lots of manures and blood and bone stuff around and the others just drop dead at the smell of it I guess.

Merino, Australia

From the look at what has survived for you khopton, I would be planting more Correas and Grvilleas. They thrive here in my clay soil ( on the alkaline side ) There are some really nice small and prostrate Grevlleas. I have grown most of my Correas from cuttings 'borrowed' from the local Arboretum.
They grow quickly and nothing seems to worry them. If you would like some cuttings, Dmail me . I have about 8 different ones. One is a prostrate red flowering one that just does so well. I have one in a creamy color that has grown to 6' It can be straggly but grows in between my Abutilons happily. They never get watered ( except for the first establishing period )