what's wrong with my zuchinni?

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

These are about 3-4 inches. Found it today with the blossoms end still on and it was black.

Thumbnail by LouC
Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

This is the plant and it is in a raised bed.

Thank you for your help.

Christi

Thumbnail by LouC
Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

My first guess is incomplete pollination.

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Is there anything I can do?

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

hand pollinate.

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Well, guess that is another phase of gardening that I am about to learn. Have you already done a "hand pollenating 101" on another thread? I am always eager to read anything you have to offer because I know I am going to learn something.
Think I will check out your journal.

Thank you,
Christi

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

It is not a technique that I have had to resort to. Therefore I have no practical experience. It is discussed regularly on this site and probably some has written an artcicle or FAC on it. In the meantime, here are a few articles to get you started.
http://www.zetatalk.com/food/tfood09s.htm http://pollinator.com/squash.htm http://pollinator.com/hand_pollination2.htm http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Squash_(plant) http://lubbock.tamu.edu/ipm/AgWeb/videos/peopleplace/squashPollination.html

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Thank you so much. We love squash and my yellow crookneck is not doing so good either. Apparently we are suffering the decline of the bees. Sure hope not.

Franklin, NC(Zone 6b)

I agree with 'Dill.

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Read all of the links. Looks like he pin-pointed the problem right off the bat. Too late to try today but tomorrow morning I will out there with my artist brush.

Franklin, NC(Zone 6b)

You don't really need a brush. You can pick the male flowers, peel off the petals and it makes its own brush, covered in pollen... sort of like a big Q-Tip!

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Thanks, I will try that.

Franklin, NC(Zone 6b)