Article on Soil and the Global Food Crisis

Lutz, FL(Zone 9b)

Hello DGers! I'm still pretty new at this whole soil and composting thing but after reading this article, I'm feeling a lot smarter than some of these guys. It starts off well in that it discusses the problem of overused soil in the world, but then I got a little confused when the only "answer" seemed to be fertilizer. I wanted to yell at the people about composting and crop rotation. Read it and tell me what you think.

FYI, I just wanted to say how well my raised beds (for vegetables) are doing. I filled them with compost and composted horse manure. Right now is the driest time of year in this part of FL. Even my weeds are wilting (and I'm not saying that to be cute, it's true). But wouldn't you know I was picking beans the other day and I had two little mushrooms growing in my beds?! I believe in the power of compost!

Overlooked in the global food crisis: A problem with dirt By SETH BORENSTEIN, AP Science Writer
Thu May 8, 6:06 PM ET

Science has provided the souped-up seeds to feed the world, through biotechnology and old-fashioned crossbreeding. Now the problem is the dirt they're planted in.

As seeds get better, much of the world's soil is getting worse and people are going hungry. Scientists say if they can get the world out of the economically triggered global food crisis, better dirt will be at the root of the solution.

Soils around the world are deteriorating with about one-fifth of the world's cropland considered degraded in some manner. The poor quality has cut production by about one-sixth, according to a World Resources Institute study. Some scientists consider it a slow-motion disaster.

In sub-Saharan Africa, nearly 1 million square miles of cropland have shown a "consistent significant decline," according to a March 2008 report by a worldwide consortium of agricultural institutions.