New to Clematis, need advice please.

Parkersburg, WV

Hi all, I am new to Clematis and just bought 4 a few weeks ago from Bluestone Perennials.

They are;
Jackmanii
Killian Donahue
Geurnsey Cream
Ville De Lyon
They all look very healthy and after reading on DG site about young Clematis,(actually Jeanne TX advised another newbie) to bury a pot half way into soil to let small Clematis to get a better root system. I have done this and they are doing great. I read that you should keep the Clematis pinched back to allow it to get a better root system. When and how often should they be pinched back.
Most of mine are less then a foot tall , one of them is at least a foot tall and wanting to stray from it's pot.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have never raised Clematis before but DG is so informitive I thought I could do this with some help from you DGer's.
Thanks taj12.

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

I am in the same situation. I bought some Clematis liners which are about 4" tall. When I repotted them into larger containers, I noticed that all 3 have a good root system already started. I bought:

Jackmanii
Ernest Markham
Viticella Venosa Violacea

I have never grown Clematis before either. I am in Zone 9b/10a. Should I grow these in the partial shade? I need advice. What is the best fertilizer for them?

I potted them each up in MiracleGro Moisture Control potting mix, with compost and Watersorb Chrystals, and bone meal added into the potting mix. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Tulsa, OK(Zone 6b)

Pinch them back as often as you notice the vines growing. I'd say keep em at about 6-8 inches. The more you pinch them this first year, the better the root system and you'll have more shoots next spring.

Everyone here recommends Rose or Tomato fertilizer.

Debbie

(Arlene) Lakeland, FL(Zone 9a)

Last week I ordered the following from different catalogs: ( Not received yet)

Marie Amanda
Niobe
Ramona
Jackmanii
Radar Love