Triliums that don't bloom

Belgium, WI(Zone 5a)

In our woods we have the most wonderful little 5x5-foot patch of triliums, right next the cute mayapples. While I've seen these triliums for about the last 4 years, I've not ever seen a bloom. Why wouldn't they flower? Is there anything I can do to encourage flowering? I don't want to mess with them too much. After all, they got there by themselves.

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

I've heard that trilliums can take up to five years to bloom from germination. But I'm no expert!

Belgium, WI(Zone 5a)

Guess what? I went out to look at them again and a small number .. maybe 5 or so have buds. So maybe they were just immature. I'll be checking on them everyday waiting to snap a picture when they bloom.

Thanks for the reply!

Highland Heights, KY(Zone 6a)

Yep, I was reading up on them today (we have them) and they don't bloom for the first, I believe, 2-3 years. Pity!

Saint Bonifacius, MN(Zone 4a)

I would imagine that in the natural woods where competition is great, it wouldn't be uncommon for a trillium to be 7 years or more old before it blooms. In fact I was just reading an older ARGS bulletin (circa 1990) with an article written by one of the formost American authorities on trilliums. Fred Case says that some species do take 7 years to bloom from seed.

Wow. Not good for impatient gardeners, huh, lol? Thanks for that info!

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

Great information. I am allways learning here.
Thanks for sharing.
So glad you are seeing buds!
I saw my first bloom of the year yesterday. Always a delight to see these bloom.
I hope you share pictures of your first flowers.

Portland, OR