Newbie asking about Clematis Wilt

Howell, NJ(Zone 7a)

Hi everyone! My name is Midge and I joined DC sometime last week. Are there some Clematis that are more likely to suffer than others or is just a matter of how they are planted initially? Any advice would be appreciated. I have about 6 clematis planted on my property and 2 seem to suffer from this problem. I want to plant some more and want to avoid this disease. Also if you could recommend a source for purchasing some more please let me know. Thank you in advance.

Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

I'm basically a newbie myself, so watch for some of the more experienced people to come along and help with the wilt question.

But for the sources, go to the Products & Sources tab at the top, then choose Garden Watchdog. Scroll down past the big list and and choose the "Browse by Category" dropdown menu. Select Plants: Clematis and you'll get a whole list of places that sell clematis. Once you've got the list, you can change the sort to be by rating, if you like, so that you're seeing the most popular ones first.

Some of the really good ones for Clematis are Joy Creek, Silver Star Vinery, Chalk Hill, Brushwood. They're all there, plus a bunch more. Each with feedback and links to their websites.

Enjoy!

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

digigirl - you did a great job in naming sources and describing how to find them!

midge - do you mean when the clematis look awful after bloom, as many do? The leaves go black and you wonder why you grew them? It may not be wilt. This is how a clematis may look after bloom and it's not wilt.

Thumbnail by pirl
Howell, NJ(Zone 7a)

digigirl- that was awesome. Thank you for taking the time to do all that for me. I hope you get a nice hug or smile today.

Pirl- Same wish for you.