buried clay pot watering

Wilsonville, OR(Zone 8b)

Hi,

I have just found information on buried clay pot watering - seems like a very efficient use of water.

http://www.ecocomposite.org/restoration/claypot.htm

http://www.continentaldrift.net/index.php/?p=68

I was wondering if anyone here has used this method. I'd love to hear what your results were, what kind of pots you used (and where you found them) etc.

Anyone?

Glen Ellyn, IL(Zone 5b)

That's a lot of manure!

Moss Point, MS(Zone 8b)

I have no personal experience with it but I was told about a variation. The man said his father used a bucket with a few tiny holes filled with manure. He supposedly had wonderful tomatoes planted around the bucket which essentially slowly released manure tea when filled with water. I imagine the manure was refreshed as the season wore on. Sounds like either way would be a good experiment.

Glen Ellyn, IL(Zone 5b)

I could see trying this with squash - like several in a circle around the pot. It would mean closer spacing than usual, I suppose.

Columbia, MO(Zone 5b)

Neat ideas! And still time to implement them for this year. Thanks guys!

Milwaukee, WI

I heard of the same thing useing 2 liter soda bottles with holes pinched in th bottom you fill the top once buried and it trickles out. No experience though but am going to try this year

Glen Ellyn, IL(Zone 5b)

Easier to find plastic bottles than a real clay pot, these days.

Wilsonville, OR(Zone 8b)

I have two concerns about plastics. One of the great things about the clay is that it will seep water out through the clay, that won't happen with plastic. (of course it will seep out through the holes, but the entire container is not porous)

Number 2, plastics contain nasty chemicals that I don't want leaking into my soil, especially since I garden organically.

I am so intrigued by this idea right now, I can't stand that I don't have clay pots buried in all my raised beds :)