New to Irises...

Zanesville, OH(Zone 6a)

I'm new to growing irises. I planted a couple of types last year (I. pallida and bearded 'Immortality') and hope to have my first blooms this year. I like plants that aren't overly fussy. So, please share from your experiences and tell me the easiest irises to grow? The most fragrant? The best rebloomers? And please share pictures of your beautiful irises!

Denise

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Hello Denise.

Welcome to the Iris Forum and to growing irises! Once you see those beauties blooming in your garden, I suspect you'll be hooked forever. They truly are magnificent flowers, which is what keeps us irisholics adding more and more of them to our gardens. They come in a dizzying array of colors, patterns, heights, forms, and cultural requirements - irises for every climate, garden setting, and set of growing conditions!

That said, all irises are definitely NOT created equal, and all irises will NOT thrive in all situations or grow and perform the same in all gardens. My personal long-term goal has been to establish an iris collection that can handle my very severe climate and "relaxed" gardening style without coddling. In other words, I grow the toughest of the tough, and the weaklings are welcome to die.

Since you are new to irises and are wanting plants that are as carefree as possible for your specific growing conditions, I recommend you contact your nearest iris club and ask them for suggestions. They will know which irises do well in your area, which rebloomers are most likely to rebloom there, and they probably hold a rhizome sale each year from which you can purchase irises acclimated to your climate and successfully grown in your area. You can find contact info for your nearest iris clubs here:

http://www.irises.org/ais606.htm