Just when I thought I knew something. . . about compost

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

Hi!
I've been following this forum for a while and have learned A LOT. So. . . yesterday I was removing the 2-3 inch layer of chopped oak leaves I put down last November from t he surface of some new perennial beds that I had planted last Fall. . . This was so I could top-dress the beds with a nice new layer of my own compost. And as I was scraping the leaves away I saw how the bottom layer of leaves was turning into dark leaf-mold, and I thought, "whoa! Why scrape off this nice organic mulch at all?"
Are there any downsides to just leaving the leaves there? Pulling them away from the crown of the plants of course. Should I put some of my new compost on TOP of the leaves? Or is this even necessary?
As you can tell, I'm still an insecure newbie to all this.

Thumbnail by CapeCodGardener
Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7b)

Just pull the leaves away from the crowns and let it do it's thing! Save your other compost for other areas :)

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

Thank you, doccat, I went out and did just that today. So good to have your expert advice.

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

Doccat5,