Organic fruit tree spraying

Pelzer, SC(Zone 7b)

I'm being told that I must spray my apple, pear and peach trees in order to get good fruit. Well, is there a way to do this without wiping out the entire benficial insect population, to say nothing of the world ? :) I haven't used any chemical sprays since I moved here two years ago, and have kept my veggies organic, but haven't a clue what to do with these inherited trees. Advice on fertilizers (and just basic care) would probably be good, too.
Anyone now a good website that will hold my hand thru the ordeal??
Thanks!

south central, PA(Zone 6b)

I am no expert, but we planted a small orchard a couple years ago. Spraying and pruning "official" advice is a little overwhelming as fruit trees produce best if kept in certain shapes. They are subject to a wide array of insect, fungus, and bacterial problems. There are whole books on pruning fruits. Culture and fertilizing are important too. Try this link for some good general info.

Cornell Guide to Growing Fruit at Home (click on “Tree Fruits” – there is info on rejuvenating old orchards near the bottom of “Tree Fruits”)
http://www.gardening.cornell.edu/fruit/homefruit.html

The pruning is a bit daunting, but we don’t go crazy. I just prune the obvious – diseased or damaged twiglet here and there, and just try to maintain the general shape. I do wipe the blades with alcohol after each cut so I don’t spread disease.