Would like to encourage salvias to get fuller

Sugar Land, TX

I have several salvias that I purchased in the little square pots (Mystical Spires, Indigo Spires, Coral Nymph, Hot Lips, etc.) that are blooming. I'm wondering if I snipped off the blooms if that would encourage the plants to get fuller. Yes? No?

And how long would it take to get my next flush of blooms? :)

Thanks very much.

Jo

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

you can cut them down almost to nothing and they will come back very full. i wouldn't do that if you haven't put them in your garden yet. you can just snip the blooms after they are finished though. as you said, that will promote fuller growth. those first two get absolutely huge so allow enough room.

Sugar Land, TX

Thanks! If I want that beautiful blue color but would prefer smaller plants, could you recommend another variety for me?

Jo

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

there is a very compact one called 'Marcus'. this is my first year for it so i can't tell how big it will get. my Mystic Spires was supposed to be an improved version of Blue Spires (not so out of control) but it gets gigantic every year. i have to snap stems to keep it from blocking the sun to other plants. ps. i got Marcus from bluestone (my favorite online place for plants-small but vigorous and fast growing and absolutely cheap! LOL)

London, United Kingdom

Salvia patens stays quite short and compact, and is a beautiful blue.

Fallbrook, CA(Zone 10b)

My Mystic Spires also behaves very suspiciously like Indigo Spires. I just picked up Marcus yesterday...nice little plant, beautiful deep color.

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

yes, i think the Mystic thing was a hoax! lol

Sugar Land, TX

Ugh Not good news! I've planted two Indigos and two Mystics! I think they are going to take over my perennial bed.

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)