eggs chirping

Luther, MI(Zone 4b)

You all wish me luck. My eggs started chirping tonight. Yep, they are scheduled to hatch tomorrow, and I am crossing my finger, toes and anything else I can that I get a good hatch. This is my first time hatching chicks, so I am very eggcited about it.

No pics yet, but will have some when I take them out of the hatcher into the temp brooder. I am using a box with a heating pad and a towel for that. Used this method to hand raise a premature puppy we had when we raised beagles. It works very good.

Lodi, United States

Congratulations, Granny! How many do you have now?

Sue, RI(Zone 6a)

Fingers Crossed! Hope all are lively and healthy. :-)

Lincolnville, ME(Zone 5a)

Beagles? Your poor thing. We had them too. Good luck with your peeps, won't be long now. Don't get too anxious once they start to pip, seems like most of mine pipped and then took about 8-12 hours before they did anything again, and once they started to peck the shell again hatched within 5 minutes. What are these, Seramas? Sorry I forget things more lately...

Columbia, TN(Zone 7b)

Best wishes to you Granny!!

MollyD

Luther, MI(Zone 4b)

Okay, here we go. I have 27 eggs in the bator. 1 has hatched out already. Waiting on the others. They are Black Australorps or RIR/Australorp crosses. Won't know until later if any are Rocky's babies or not.

Columbia, TN(Zone 7b)

26 to go!! I'm as excited as if they were mine. Can you do pictures Granny?

MollyD

Luther, MI(Zone 4b)

Yes, and will do them after I put them in the temp brooder. So far what this one looks like is a straight Australorp. Don't really know if Rocky is shooting blanks or not. Will have to wait, and am sitting on pins and needles with it, too.

Columbia, TN(Zone 7b)

Good luck with that! Sounds like you are in for a long night!

MollyD

Lodi, United States