First Time Canna Planting in Zone 6/7

McLean, VA(Zone 6b)

This is my first time planting cannas. I've been going through the forum to look for information, but I still have some questions. I have four red wine cannas that I would like to plant. Three will be going into the ground, one will go into a planter.

Since I am in a cooler area, I'm wondering if I should start the cannas inside and move them out after the last frost? If I begin them inside, do they need a heat mat and lights? These are bulbs (tubers?). I am assuming that they will bloom the first year.

I also read conflicting information about fertilizing them. Are they heavy feeders? Does too much fertilizer cause alot of leave, and few blooms?

Thumbnail by pennefeather
Aurora, CO(Zone 5b)

penne, get them in pots and do put out after last frost. They don't like cold. I just put mine in the garage, because there isn't enough room in the house. I put them against the house wall(a little warmer). This time of year the temps there are mid 30s to upper 60s. Yes, they will bloom this year. I'm not sure, but you MAY need to dig up at end of year and store over winter. I just use a compost tea to fetilize. I didn't feed last year at all, but had them in a new lasagna bed. Good luck.

McLean, VA(Zone 6b)

Do you have any pictures of your cannas from last year. I'm looking for pictures of the bed, not the individual cannas. I'm still trying to plan how this going to look in the garden.

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

penne--which cannas did you buy?

McLean, VA(Zone 6b)

Tabasco,