newbie question!

(Zone 6a)

I'm fairly new to Adenium obesum and bought my first one last summer and when I brought it in for winter I cut back on water and it went completly dormant, so now that spring is coming I moved it to a warm and bright spot, but am wondering if I need to water a bit to start it growing or do I wait for growth till I water? Please advise! Also any general advice on watering once it's in growth would be very helpful!

Thank-you,
Steven

Georgetown, TX(Zone 8a)

I'm new to them too, but I'm pretty sure you should wait to water until the growth gets going.

Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)

Here's a thread where this was discussed briefly also: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/820690/

(Zone 6a)

Thanks Peeper and Clare!

Steven

Townsville, Australia

I never water any plants that go dormant until new growth is visible. Some are summer dormant ,others winter dormant. If you water while they are not growing you always run a risk of fungus or bacterial rot. The caudiform / pachycaule plants store sufficient water and nutrient in the swolen base or trunk
to get them started in the following season. When watering always water thoroughly, never just dampen, and allow them to dry between subsequent waterings. For good flowering and caudex growth a high phosphate (p) fertilizer should be used. Bob.

Copenhagen, Denmark(Zone 7b)

However, if you don't give dormant plants a little water now and then, you end up with dry and dead feeder roots. IMHO, this can cause a set back of growth in Spring, and you run the risk of root rot when watering plants which can't take up the water.

Best regards,

Martin

(Zone 6a)