Major aphid problem

Zanesville, OH

anyone know a sure fire way to get rid of aphids in a small hobby greenhosue?

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

Hose them off?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

If you like organic approaches, the hose and/or insecticidal soap is probably the best way to go. The trick with aphids is you have to keep after them--even if you use a more toxic pesticide, you'll never get every single one the first time and they reproduce like crazy so you need to go back and repeat the treatment until you get them under control.

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

If you're not into organic approaches (I'm still on the fence about them), use a systemic insecticide. When sucking insects get out of control, I've no problems with retaliating with chemical warfare. ;)

Fulton, MO

I have found aphids to be quite sensitive to soap sprays.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

How about Neem Oil?

I've been battling aphids for over 2 months in my little greenhouse. Wish I owned stock in Safer since I can go through a bottle of insecticidal soap every 10 days or so. I broke down and ordered some ladybugs yesterday and figured I'd give them a try since the aphids are now attacking my little seedlings and I hate to spray them too much with the Safer.
I do have a question or two with respect to the ladybugs though. I have yellow sticky traps all over my greenhouse. Do I need to remove those before I let the ladybugs loose? And I read that it's best to let the ladybugs loose at night so that they'll settle in better on the plants. Is this a good policy?

Fenton, MI(Zone 5b)

Cindy Look on the garden forums here someone posted a homemade receipe for a soap spray.
Look into it! It was cheap and safe. i have often used a real soap( fatty acids) not with LYE it has to be a soap..Murphys oil is one, and i mix it with dog shampoo. Many times I have found them for a 1.00 a bottle.
They have Pyrethrums ( crushed Crysanthemum flwrs) and Pyreth. are also found in flea and tick sprays