new house, new beds

Portland, OR

Here is the deal. I just bought my first home. It is the end of March and I move in next week. I can barely sleep at night dreaming of my vegetable garden and flower beds!!!
My new yard is a blank slate covered by annoying lawn. I will want to put in new beds (bermed) and a veggie garden THIS YEAR. I am not a gardening novice and I realize it would be easiest and best to create new beds in the fall. However, there is NO WAY with how excited I am that I can wait until the fall. So here is my question.
What is the best way? The idea I had was for my perrenial/grass/shrub berms was to cover lawn with newspaper and pile on top a compost/soil mix, plant the plants, then mulch around plants with wood chips.
For the veggie garden I was just going to rototiller the area (sod and all) and amend in some compost, then cover with newspaper, then another layer of soil upon which I would plant my seeds.
Do you think these techniques would work? Does anyone have any suggestions to make it better?

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Yes, I think it will work just fine. I wouldn't do any tilling first, I'd just build lasagna, but that's just me. It's far less expensive in that your materials are simply newspaper (or cardboard) and layered organic matter. and you don't have to buy anything including soil or compost. It results in wonderful soil.

If you google "lasagna gardening" you can find a lot of information.

Karen

Portland, OR

The reasoning behind tilling is that we have clay soil here. The last time I tried just layering on top I had really poor drainage. I thought I could get away with not tilling on the berms since I was building quite a bit of height in them. Do you think tilling will help drainage and root penetrationin my (non-bermed) veggie garden if I till in some organic material first?

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)