Winter aconite?

Salt Point, NY(Zone 5a)

While waiting (not so patiently) for "friends" to pop through the ground, I started going through pictures of last year's spring. I always called this winter aconite, but couldn't find a similar picture in the plant files. Can anyone id from my picture? Thanks to all of you for the great photos of beginning spring. I'm new to DG and it was wonderful to see others as eagerly looking for spring as I am!

Thumbnail by Gardenfrances
Southeast, MA(Zone 6b)

Found this in Plantfiles. http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/760/ Hopes this helps you identify your plant. Welcome to DG and the Northeast forum. Spring can't get here soon enough for me either. :)

South China, ME(Zone 5a)

Gardenfrances, can't help you on the picture but wanted to Welcome you to DG and the Northeast forum!

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

Welcome!

Winter aconite (Eranthis hyemalis), it is. Normally planted as a winter bulb, it gets about 5 inches or so tall, and spreads pretty good.

Very cheery looking after a long winter.

S of Lake Ontario, NY(Zone 6a)

Welcome GF, and welcome Spring! Well almost, it's snowing again right now. I walked around yesterday, and saw a couple leaves poking thru where the snow had melted.

Rhinebeck, NY(Zone 5b)

Hi, Gardenfrances, I am right up the road from you and my neighbor has the same thing in her garden and she also calls it winter aconite.

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Welcome Frances!

Salt Point, NY(Zone 5a)

Thanks, all, for your welcome and help! What a thrill to wake up this am and have replies and suggestions. Chatting with other gardeners is right up there with being outside!