Hoping my Mexican Marigold will return

Eureka, CA

I bought these last spring http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/54284 I had 2 in containers and 2 directly planted into a bed. I absolutely loved them! I loved walking by them on the path, touching them lightly and smelling the (to me) wonderful aroma. Well, after they started looking ratty in the winter, I pruned them back, leaving about 9 inches of woody growth. So far I see no sign of life. Well, I know it's only mid-March, but there are a few things poking out in my climate. I'm certainly hoping this will come back. Anyone have any experience? I did read the plant file info, so I'm hopeful. I'm just not sure about my pruning.

Thanks,

Sanna

Wichita Falls, TX(Zone 7a)

Sanna,

I am in Zone 7 (North Texas) and prunned mine back in January. I probably left about 6". I am seeing some new growth down at the very bottom, just barely poking it's head out of the mulch. This is my first year to have this plant in the current, sunny location. I previously had it in the shade and it didn't bloom much. It does come back every year for me!

HTH,
Necia

Wichita Falls, TX(Zone 7a)

I fogot to add a picture of mine. I love the smell, too, but DH hates it! I will be staking mine this year as it got to floppy last season!

=)Necia

Thumbnail by earthtiller
Eureka, CA

Thanks for the encouragement, Necia. Perhaps a few more warmer, longer days and I'll see some! That picture is gorgeous. Mine didn't flop too much, but it sure got bigger than I expected! I guess too the smell is "either you like it or you don't". Some people can't stand the smell of Cleome, but I love it! And the smell of Lantana takes me back to being a kid because my dad grew it. Ah, smells and memories.

Sanna

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)