Lots of newbie questions

Camden, AR(Zone 8a)

Hello- I am new to DG and new to gardening. I have a large 4 acre yard that I am beginning to landscape and it is almost all in full sun. I have seen the coneflowers and gotten interested in them because I love butterflies, and it seems they do well in the heat. Am I correct about them handling the hot summers well - I am in So Arkansas...... Also, if I plant seeds now will they bloom this summer or will it be summer of 09 before they do. Any special growing conditions needed?? I am looking at adding day lillies and lots of coneflowers and maybe a few other periennials this year..... suggestions ???

Thanks - and can anyone tell me if there will be any other coops or where I should start trying to obtain the coneflowers???? Is it ok to plant now??

Thanks!!!
Genna

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Hi Genna,
I think there have been coneflower coops in the past, you could check there:
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/groupbuy/all/
You should be able to plant now there I would think. They should do good there, their biggest enemies are extreme heat and dryness and wet winter. I love helenium also and they can take wet winters for a site replacement.

Frisco, TX(Zone 8a)

Genna, One thing to consider when doing a coop is the size of the plant you'll be getting. Sometimes these are very tiny plants that will need to be looked after closely before they go out into a hot,dry garden(even those native plants that are able to handle our hot summers once they get some size on them)So one question to ask before you buy any plant is how am I going to water these plants before they are big enough to handle things on their own? The drought is one area I have to think about each time I want to put in a new plant. When we moved I got my husband to put in a drip sprinkler system for my small beds. Best thing I've done in years...