Blenders for worm goodies

Eureka, CA

Hi fellow wormers.... I'm still new to this ~ I've read some posts on the web regarding using a blender or other chopping device. I seem to trust DG folks more than any ~ do any of you more experienced ones have anything to share? So far I've just put in the scraps. (Yesterday I even bought more worms, because the first batch I bought was only about 300. Have to support my habit! LOL!)

and question #2: re: eggshells. I wash mine, and crush them, but haven't dried them. Is it recommended to dry them simply to maintain moisture balance in the medium? or for another reason.

Happy Sunday to all ~ beautiful early spring morning here, albeit a bit cool, and I can't wait to get outside. Many plans for the day!

Sanna

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)

Well, if I had to blenderize the kitchen scraps, my worms would go hungry!
I do chop up bigger stems, but most scraps go in as is. The worms seem to do fine with that. I'd be concerned about adding too much liquid to get the blender to work.

Eureka, CA

I watched someone (there's a yahoo vermicomposting group) who made a short video and posted it on the web, that showed his bin and what he does. He actually made a "smoothie" in his blender and poured it into the bin. I somehow think that's not what would be preferred. I did remember I have in my kitchen a mini-chopper, and I may use that for some of the bigger things. I dunno.... like I said, this is all new and exciting! Thanks for the reply.

Sanna

Detroit, MI(Zone 6a)

Sannajane, I'm with garden mermaid. Personally, I'm anti-blender because I think vermicomposting is supposed to be a green activity- the fewer electric devices, the better!