Hello from a plant-crazy Californian

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie, and just wanted to pop in and say “hi.” This looks like a wonderful place, and I am really excited to connect with other gardeners! I’ve been having a lot of fun building up my gardening blog and poking around the site for the past few days. These forums have been giving me all sorts of dangerous ideas though – every time I look at a new forum I see yet another plant I just can’t live without ;-).

Space is at a premium in this area. I lusted after a patch of dirt for many years, while I crowded pots onto a patio, and later a balcony. We now have a tiny yard, and it really is a dream come true. We just moved into this place last summer, and the garden is very much a work in progress. I am trying to curb my out of control my plant acquiring urges since we have very limited space, but I don’t know how successful this will be, lol.

Sunny

Joey in Conroe, TX(Zone 8b)

Hi Sunny,
I'm new here too, there is so much to see. I know what you mean about the plant aquiring urge, but you can always find room for one more!! If all else fails go up!! What kind of things do you grow there in San Jose (of course now I'm humming the song LOL)

Thanks for the welcome! I absolutely agree there’s always room for one or two or maybe a few dozen more plants ;-). My plan for this garden is to grow plants to the point where there isn’t any dirt or fence visible. I am well on my way.

Our yard was just a flat little patch covered in landscape bark when we moved in, so we spent a lot of time amending the clay soil. We also put in a small pond, so we have a few water plants, and a lot of groundcovers around the pond. I carted around my late grandpa’s Japanese maple tree for years, and we finally stuck it in the ground a few weeks ago. We also have two lemon bushes, a lemon guava and various perennials.