Bat Flower Identification

Brisbane, Australia

Hello,
I purchased a Bat flower plant and have lovingly looked after it for almost a year now in anticipation of the wonderful which has just arrived.
My confusion is the plant was purchased as the Tacca Chantrierii but my flowers dont look the same as the ones I have seen.
Can someone clear up if I have a different kind of Tacca.
Thanks
Katrina

Thumbnail by katweet
Robertstown, Australia(Zone 10a)

I'm no Tacca expert (I'm STILL waiting for the seeds I planted in September to germinate!) But the general flower shape looks correct as the white ones have big "bat ears" at the top of the flower head. How long has the flower been open as it looks very young. I suspect the colour may deepen and the flower become more typical in appearance as the inflorescence ages and the individual flowers open up. Please post some more pictures as the flower progresses.

Ciao, Kaelkitty.

Brisbane, Australia

Thanks for the reply Kaelkitty,
Its only been open a day so maybe it does darken as it matures. Its supposed to be the black one.
I will post more pics as it matures.
Thanks again

Shoalwater, WA, Australia

Hey Katrina

How's your bat flower shaping up? I saw mention of them in another forum and was curious, and looked at them in PlantFiles, and they are the most awesome plants! (i just get blown away by the beauty and diversity of the plant kingdom) I look forward to seeing pictures of the mature flower.

cheers

Kerri

Townsville, Australia(Zone 10a)

Here is a pic of my white flowering batflower.

Thumbnail by annette68

oh, i want some! Are seeds easy enough to get hold of? Like, would bunnings or the local nursery have them? They seem wonderfully exotic.

My black one is flowering now, I will wait and try and collect seeds for you.

Thumbnail by annette68

:D Thankyou!

Gisborne, New Zealand

Hullo to you all and a happy easter. I was just browsing around and spotted your pictures of Bat flowers. They have always intrigued me