New Clematis - How long before they bloom?

Brentwood, NY(Zone 6b)

I'm a newbie to Clematis and I recently ordered 6 of them from Brushwood Nursery to begin covering about 40ft of ugly chain link and stockade fencing. One each of:
Belle of Woking
Florida
Jackmanii
Multiblue
Ramona
and Sounvenir du Capitaine Thuilleaux
They're a mix of Group 2 and 3. On the website it said that some clematis will bloom the first year they're in the ground, others take longer to establish. Can anyone tell me if the ones I've purchased will bloom this year or will it take longer? I don't much mind either way I just don't want to rip them out thinking I killed them because they didn't bloom the first year.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

It varies. Much depends on the maturity of the roots though I've had babies bloom. Some just might bloom but there are people who won't let them bloom the first year and won't let them grow beyond two feet tall so they clip them back to force more root growth in lieu of flowers.

The general rule is the first year they sleep, second year they creep and third year they leap. Don't give up on them because you don't see a lot of growth. Make sure you plant them deep (yes, covering the green growth if necessary) and keep the roots cool but don't kill them by drowning them. They do want COOL roots, not sodden.

Will you be growing them on roses or through shrubs or on trellises?

This message was edited Feb 27, 2008 8:05 AM

Brentwood, NY(Zone 6b)