Sowing Poppie seeds that need the dark

La Salle, MI(Zone 5b)

Hi, if this has been asked b4, sorry but I just don't have time to read all these threads in search of my answer.

I have a few different poppie seeds that say that they need the dark, I am really new to these, can someone please tell me how to sow these.

Thanks Connie

(Zone 7a)

What I have done is put the flat on a shelf of my linen closet. The trick is that once they're up they do need light, and they get spindly really quick. The first time I tried this my seeds came up a couple days before the projected germination time, and by then it was too late--I had to start all over!

If you were trying this with direct seeding, you might try using some of that black, porous weed fabric as a temporary cover, but I've never tried that--anyone?

Good luck!

Mableton, GA(Zone 7a)

What "natural" process is this mimicking? Where would they sow in the dark and then suddenly have light as they sprouted? Nature is weird sometimes. :)

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

3gardeners,

That's my question, too. Heat, light or cold, I understand -- but darkness? Did I not read on the WS Forum that people are using that method for poppies? If I am remembering that right, where would darkness come into play with WS? Cloudy, overcast days wouldn't be the same as dark.

Karen

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)

Wouldn't a layer of snow cause darkness?

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

I don't think so. I've seen photos of the inside of "snow caves", and the light is shining through the snow. If they were winter sown in milk jugs and the snow only covered the tops of the jugs, you would have light, too.

Karen

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)

Yep, but I figure that if the seeds are direct sown in the ground (mimicking mother nature, not in WS jugs) and the snow is on the ground, unlike with a snow cave, then it ought to be dark at ground level, no?

Louisville, KY