Problem with Adenium. Branch rot?

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

Hello;

Can anyone give me a hand with a problem I have? About two months ago I got a Golden Crown Adenium. Paid through the nose for it. It was dormant when I got it. I planted it up in a shallow pot and placed it in my kitchen with the idea of putting it outside in March when the temps get above 50 here in Tallahassee. Today I noticed that several of the ends of the branchs appear to be rotting. They are mushie and hollow to the touch. About half the length of some of the branches which are about 4 inches long are affected. The caudex also appears to have shrunken a bit. I've given it a very small amount of water in the past and maybe I shouldn't have. In total no more than a cup of water over the past 2 months. I've heard that Adeniums are prone to root rot but I've never heard of branch rot. What can I do? Can/should I cut off the rotting/mushie parts of the branches?

Sequim, WA(Zone 8a)

I am no expert on Adeniums, have murdered one myself with too much water - I would cut of the rotting stems, try to dry it out completely and repot it in really well draining soil - hopefully it will work - but, I am sure the people here with more knowledge on Adeniums will give you better advice :-)

Las Cruces, NM(Zone 8a)

I haven't posted an answer because I have to admit I'm kind of puzzled too, duiguid! I have a few Adeniums and I also thought the risk of rot was at the soil level, affecting the caudex and roots. I generally don't water my Adeniums much (if any) in the winter if they're dormant (no leaves.) But honestly the amount you've described doesn't sound like a lot of water to me, and why would it only affect the branch tips? The shrunken caudex has me a bit puzzled too. Have you removed it from the soil to see if the caudex has any soft mushy spots (rot) as well?