I just can't find a shade tolerant shrub/tree for screening!

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

Hello guys,
I've been learning a lot in this forum!
I have a tall (6ft) wood fence on my northern property line, but my window - which sits right in front of the neighbor's window - is higher than the fence.
I am new to shade gardening, and I am having a very hard time to find some tall shrub or small tree I can use to plant right on that spot.
I didn't want anything too big or dense that would create even more shade on the side yard, just something pretty and tall enough to block the neighbor's window view. Everything I see (except pine trees and the like) seems to need at least partial sun!
There's got to be something out there....if it had some wildlife value, or fragrance, even better...
Please help!

Plainwell, MI(Zone 5b)

um a rose of sharon can tolerate quit a bit of shade. i just planted one last summer but aneighbor of mine has one in almost all shade and it blooms profusly. the hummers love them. just a suggestion...Ronna

Chesterland, OH(Zone 5b)

I have seen where folks grow hemlocks in a row and trim them into a hedge shape of desired height.

Oakland, CA(Zone 9b)

Speaking as a coastal Northern CA gardener, it is not easy to find the perfect plant for your situation. In our mild climate, evergreen vines, normally recommended for your kind of situation (solanum jasminoides especially, both standard and variegated) do not stay at a neat 10' height, but instead turn into fence-crushing, trellis-busting 25' monsters.

Two suggestions would be:

1) the red-flowering abutilon "Nabob" - Mine has grown to 10', but with a fairly open, lacy canopy. They are easily pruned into a small, spreading tree, which is what I've done (I need vertical plants, not horizontal spreading). At the local Kaiser, the gardener has left them unpruned to form big bushy 8' shrubs.