CLOSED: CLOSED: Wanted: Bowling balls you don't use

Lowell, MA(Zone 6a)

Hello forum i got bitten with the Gazing Globe bug. And had been looking for old bowling balls to start making one. No luck so far at nearby thrift stores, so i was wondering if anyone aroung here has any they do not use, i am willing to pay shipping.
Thanks
~Soris

Hi I love Gazing balls myself. Do not pass over some of the (glass or plastic) lamp globes you might find, they work equally well.

Lowell, MA(Zone 6a)

Hello Dutchlady, you know as a matter of fact today i was at a craft store and saw some styrofoam balls, they where a similar size of a bowlling ball. I hesitated to buy it because i dont know if that material would be any good once i put all that grout and tiny mirrors. What do you think?

I have no experience with them, but seeing as how styrofoam doesn't deteriorate EVER in the landfills I think they would be fine. Maybe ask on the craft forum?

Independence, LA(Zone 8b)

Have you tried asking at the local bowling alley? I asked for any old ones and got 3 for free. Also Craigslist.net or freecycle may get some results.

After summer this year I happened to hit Hobby Lobby when the outdoor stuff went 90% off and found some really neat balls to place around the yard. Hope you find some soon, good luck :)

Lowell, MA(Zone 6a)

Thank you pieohmy, will try craiglist. it didnt cross my mind.

(Pat) Kennewick, WA(Zone 5b)

Dulci I don't recognize your name so I'm not sure if you have been to the trash to treasure forum, but there are lots of examples of finished ones there. Many of the crafters have gotten the bowling balls FREE from local bowling alleys. You DO NOT want to pay postage on those things! LOL ~ Pat

(Zone 1)

Dulcigarden: I think shipping would be astronomical on something as heavy as a bowling ball! I think you should check local bowling alley's and ask if they have any old ones they could part with! They would probably like someone to take them off their hands.