organic solution to bermuda grass?

(Zone 7a)

I have been fighting bermuda grass for 10 years. The grass is winning. I have beautiful organically amended beds that I have to sift through every year in order to attempt to get every last bit of the grass soots, and of course, I don't, so by the fall, grass is growing all through my plants and I have do do the whole thing again. the best I have accomplished is a sort of equibrium--at least the grass isn't choking out my other plants, but it is a very time consuming, not to mention frustrating annual experience!

Pretty much the only organic solution I've read involves covering the beds with plastic in the heat of the summer for a month. -- I had tried this before I planted, and tried to remove all of the root remains afterwards-- clearly this was not entirely effective. It took a couple years before the grass really established but I've learned that one little root can repopulate the world! Plus now I have all kinds of lovely bulbs, self-seeding annuals, and perennials that I would have nowhere to put if I tried this again.

I will not use Roundup, which is why I'm posting here instead of the weeds forum

Any other suggestions?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

If it's gradually creeping in from a lawn area, you could try pounding a metal barrier down into the ground as a root barrier between the lawn and the bed, that may stop the runners from creeping into the bed. For the stuff that's already growing in the bed, you could try vinegar, but it's not a magic bullet, some of it will likely still come back from the roots and you'll have to treat it again. And be careful not to get the vinegar on your plants, it's a general herbicide and will hurt them too. Vinegar works best if you can apply it on a warm sunny day.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)