CLOSED: What species of Hummer?

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

I posted a thread on the Butterfly and Hummingbird forum:

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/805480/

Pelle thought it might be a female Ruby-throat and others have told me they thought it might be a Rufous Hummer. Since I am new to hummers ... this is my very first one ... can someone post a link to a website that shows what the females look like or a photo of a hummer that looks very much like mine? I would sure appreciate it. There is no red on it's throat even now.

I have NOT been able to get a photo of it, only video. I don't know how the rest of you get photos of these quick tiny birds! The video is the only proof I have that I have one coming to my yard. And it is still here. Apparently, it's either a resident bird or is overwintering here.

Marlton, NJ

LOL, that frog cracks me up everytime! Looks like pop goes the weasel.!

A lot of Ruby-throateds have rufous color on their flanks.

I'll D mail you something. :-)

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Can you post some pics of it? My computer is too old to run the video.

Resin

Pelle - Thanks for your d-mail. If you run across a photo of a female Ruby-throat, please post the link here. I'd so appreciate it.

Resin - I wish I HAD a photo of my bird. I've had no luck whatsoever trying to photograph it. I was able to get the video because I set the camcorder up on a tripod and let it run. The minute the bird sees me outside, it takes off. I can only view it from the window or on video.

Jeffersonville, IN(Zone 6b)

I've got a picture of a female Red Throat Hummer. The females are slightly larger than the males, plus they have white at the very end of their tail feathers, if I'm not mistaken.

Thumbnail by indiana_lily

Maybe run the video, pause it (or even select frame-by-frame to find the best), then do a printscreen?

Resin