Birds in the Backyard

Perris, CA(Zone 9a)

I am a Beginner in Bird Watching. I have attended one local Audubon chapter meeting last week and I am intending to go to my first Very Beginning Bird Walk on Sunday February 2. I have been watching birds in my backyard for over a year now and it really is fun to be able to tell a House Finch from a Purple Finch. We even have one or two American Goldfinches come around. My question is lately when I go into my backyard, about twenty to thirty birds take off in flight. These are mostly House Sparrows but some are finches. I still have birds to watch in two or three minutes but I would like to see the majority. The remaining birds are okay about my binoculars but when I bring the camera into the backyard, they rush off, too. Remember my backyard is relatively small and is filled with three bird waterers, one bird bath, a tube feeder, two thistle socks, and four hummingbird feeders. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get the birds used to me?

Thanks,

Chuck

Marlton, NJ

Hi Chuck, I think you just have to be consistent in going out there everyday so they get used to you and then they'll keep coming back in ,in shorter times.

If that doesn't work for you there is always a blind or hide that you could make or purchase. Just put it out in the yard a few days before you start using it to let them get accustomed to it.

Perris, CA(Zone 9a)

Thanks, Pelletory! I still have a lot to learn about Bird Watching.

Thanks again,

Chuck

Lawrenceville, GA

The more you're out there, as Pelle said, the more they'll know you mean no harm... in fact, they'll come to realize you're the one who brings the food!