hotbed vs regular garden

Glen Burnie, MD(Zone 7a)

My husband is going to build me two hotbeds this year.. I am trying to figure out what to plant in those and what to plant in my regular garden. My garden is not very big, and I am not very good at it yet but I am trying..

I hope I am not bugging people with my "green" questions. I am trying to be smart about it and make list to figure out what to plant and what to buy.. I hope this year will be better than the past 2 years.

thanks

Jenn

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)

Jenn, I'm not sure I know what a "hotbed" is--can you explain?

And of course you're not bugging anyone with questions--that's what Dave's is all about! Lots of times I learn more from reading someone else's questions than I do from posting my own. Today I'm hoping I'll learn what a hotbed is! :)

Glen Burnie, MD(Zone 7a)

Sorry.. It is a raised bed. My grammy called them hotbeds.. (she is the one who had the green thumb).. Right now I have the I get stuff for a week and then kill it thumb.. :)

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)

Oh, but with your raised hotbed, and all the advice and suggestions from DG you're going to do so much better this year! :)

I have 2 raised beds and several EarthBoxes, but no in-ground space, so I don't really have too much basis for comparison, but I would think about several factors as I was planning:

•soil condition: If you have any amendment issues, your raised beds will be a better place for picky plants. Carrots and root veggies in particular would appreciate a looser, less rocky soil.
•space necessary: This can go either way. If you have something sprawly or viny, like melons or cucumbers or pumpkins (or even large indeterminate tomatoes), you'll want to put them somewhere where they have lots of space. This can be in your raised bed, if they can sprawl over the side, or out in your regular garden if they can have room to go out beyond your plantings.