Share type of camera used to take bird photos?

Mount Pleasant Mills, PA(Zone 5a)

I really enjoy looking at all of the wonderful, clear, bird photos you folks share. I would like to begin taking photos of the many lovely birds visiting my backyard feeders, and would appreciate knowing some of the camera types you use.

I am a novice at photography, so any advice you birders can give to me will be appreciated. Do I need a special lens?

Dacula, GA(Zone 7b)

Hi Granny,

I use an Olympus C765 digital camera. It has 10 X optical zoom which I really like. I can be fairly far away and still get a close up pic. I am thinking about buying one of the newer 18 X zoom ones though. I wish the 765 had image stabilization. That's important with higher zoom. Just get the most optical zoom you can afford and don't worry about megapixels unless you are going to print poster size. You can learn a lot in the "Cameras and Photography forum: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/camera/all/

Becky

Marlton, NJ

Actually theres another side to having more megapixels.

The more mp's you have the better your photos will turn out when cropping.

GG, If your not going to get into a DSLR than check out customer reviews on zoom cameras over 12 x. Do try to get as many megapixels as you can afford.

There is also the Camera and Photography Forum where you can get more opinions.

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/camera/all/

Dacula, GA(Zone 7b)

Pelle, You're right. I forgot about cropping since I am way too lazy to ever do it. LOL.

Hebron, KY

I've using Fuji Finepix S5200 with a 10 X zoom, but I'm getting a Fuji FinePix S8000fd that has an 18 X zoom!

Here's info on the camera I'm getting! Can't wait to get it and start taking photos of birds with it! ;-)

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/s/finepix_s8000fd/

Marilyn

Wasilla, AK