Can anyone give me a good reason?

(Sheryl) Gainesboro, TN(Zone 6b)

I keep hearing over and over "I compost all paper but the shiny stuff."

I don't know about you, but a big part of the paper I want to compost *is* the shiny stuff. So, what is it? Different ink? Breaks down slower? Carries anthrax? Please tell me before I commit arson and burn it all.

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

Ghak! I heard burning it is WORSE!

I may be wrong but think it doesn't break down as quickly as well as adding vile stuff to the soil.

I bet someone smarter can one up me on that answer... LOL

St. Louis County, MO(Zone 5a)

My 2 cents for what it's worth is to go ahead and compost it IF you aren't using the compost in the food gardens. Black ink is soy based, the colors aren't, and there is some kind of chemical used for the slick feel. Burning would release these chemicals in the air. Are there any paper recycle bins near you? We put the colored pages and magazines in them. I'm not an expert.

Scotia, CA(Zone 9b)

Quoting:
http://www.gardening.cornell.edu/factsheets/orgmatter/index.html

Shredded computer or other office paper and glossy magazine-style paper decomposes slowly and may contain dioxins. There are enough concerns about the dioxin in bleached and glossy paper that it would be wise not to use them in the garden.

Waxed paper almost never breaks down.

There has been concern about using colored paper or ink, which contains heavy metals. Evidence shows such low concentration of heavy metals - if any at all - that colored paper may be used without significant risk. Many inks currently used are soy-based.

So those slick ads should not be composted but the non glossy colored ads and funny papers should be ok since most of them are printed with vegetable inks now.

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7b)