Cammellia with problem

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

This one however I can't detect WHY it is suddenly getting dark leaves. Anybody???? MayDay. This is the C.Jap."Eleanor McCown" should bloom between Dec and Feb. Full with buds but nothing happening yet, not even one is starting to pop out. And since a week now it is getting some darker leaves, mostly at bottom half of plant. Is it too wet, this my new border area, everything else seems to be doing fine including the more finicky "winter Daphne".

Thumbnail by TulipLady
Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Tuliplady;
I'm no expert, but gardening in similiar climate and probably same zone, my Camellias were affected by scale insects this early Spring. Tough pests to treat, but dormant oils spray while the weather is milder should take care of them creepy crawly pest. Use the chemical with care, read the label and follow strict instruction.

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Lily there is nothing that even looks remotely like animal on the plants. That is so strange. I'll go look again in an hour. Sun is coming out now so everything will be dry. The other one(C.Sas.) is doing fine, bought on same day at same Garden Center (Pike's), same border etc. That's why I am so surprised. When your C. were affected by these scale insects did the leaves look the same?

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

These scales are hard to differentiate by the necked eyes. They appear like immobile tiny bumps on the canes and underside of leaves. They sucks nutrients out of the affected area, thus causing the leaves to appear moltled and discorated. Pikes is a great nursery in our area too, I'd suggest you take a sample of the affected leave, branch back to them in a sealed plastic bag. And see if they can help further? I would.

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

That's a thought. Thanks. I;'ll browse through my garden enceclopedia first to see if I see a similar "problem", if not then I'll go back to Pikes.

Marietta, GA(Zone 7b)

My thoughts..