Newbie Needs Help, PLEASE. :)

Saint James, MO(Zone 6b)

Hi all, I am new to gardening, and even newer to having a green house. We just got it built and have the heater in it, which is keeping it nice and cozy, but now I am worried about moisture. This was put up quickly, and without much knowledge of what all needs to be done. I just wanted to protect the few plants that I have right now, and have the ability to get some tropicals "up and growing". :) I have read some of the "sticky's", but I just don't quite get it. If someone could help me figure this out I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks in advance! Misty

Fulton, MO

Hi Misty,

Are you worried about too much moisture or too little? This time of year, people are usually worried about too much moisture.

For a detailed explanation of GH humidity, read here: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/660217/ and here: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/791285/

Get a simple thermostat and hygrometer. For the temps in most greenhouses, as long as you are more or less in the 60-85% relative humidity range, you will probably be OK. It may be normal to have condensation on the inside of the GH. Watch the temps and RH in your GH during different times of the day and different seasons. You will "get it."

SB

Saint James, MO(Zone 6b)

Thanks SB! I am worried about too much moisture at this time. I bought a thermometer, but I forgot to buy the RH meter! Some of the plants are loving the moisture, but others aren't quite as fond of it. Dh just told me that he has a couple small fans that we can try, then get the meter that shows the RH, then go from there. Thanks for all your help!
Misty

Fulton, MO