Big kitty is back ?

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

Last spring I had a fairly long thread about tree scratching and other signs in the woods that MAY have been made by a cougar.
I had posted pictures of trees ripped up, bone cache , found deer hair all over a trail below what looked like a perch in a tree, etc.

Of course we sometimes have a bear walk through, we have bobcats and many other critters that live in the woods and scratch trees and such.

In the mud last spring, I found some very large cat prints, too large for bobcat and too small for cougar. Then nothing.

I am still learning about cat activity. I have read where a young male cougar will come into a new territory. I feel it is POSSIBLE, that we may have had one here. I read where the cat will winter in one place and summer somewhere else. Do bobcats do this too?

Saturday I took the dog for a walk. I was not far from the house in a very sandy area of the trail when I spotted a pile of sand. This pile was about a foot across, about 8" high and had scratch marks all around it.
The scratches were in sets of four, with each claw about an inch apart. The scratches were about a foot from the pile all around it.

Well, I took my foot and dug loosely through the pile. I thought I might find some scat, that I could take in to the DNR to have analyzed. I found nothing in the pile of sand, other than stones and a stick, maybe I should look closer. DH was at work and it snowed before he could see the scratches. But they were still visible enough for him to also scratch his head.

I can think of no other animal than a cat that would scratch up dirt like this. We either have a giant bobcat, or maybe...a cougar?
The bobcats I have seen are only 35-35 lbs or so. This looks like my choc lab paw would fit nicely. He is 90 lbs.