Orchid Time in NJ

Wrightstown, NJ(Zone 7a)

I am not good with orchids because I tend to forget them and do not do well with propagation. I do however have a few that refuse to give up on me and here is one. The Dendrobium Burana Blue x Medy Red. Why it survives I have no idea but there are three of these and they are just beginning to bloom now. Pretty little flowers.

Thumbnail by JBerger
Hillsborough , NC(Zone 7a)

Just beautiful! Do you keep them outside in the summer? I live in what is suposed to be the best climate for orchids and yet I manage to kill nearly everyone I have...

Wrightstown, NJ(Zone 7a)

Yes Braveheart, I throw them out as soon in April that I can. They get no attention, no food or nothing when they are outside. I do love them, but I seem to forget to take care of them like I do when they are in the greenhouse. I was about to feed them and put them to bed for the winter when these guys started to bloom. Oh well, what do I know? I only paid a few dollars for them at Home Depot when they were all half price and done blooming. I had no idea what they would look like. I brought them home and the next year they started to bloom....the others died....these never even got the mealy bug the others got...I tell you, they are a hearty stock. I have now decided I will try and take better care of them. Now you can be sure they will die. That hurts me to think that. :)

Baytown, TX(Zone 9a)

That is beautiful! Good Luck with it!

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

IslandShari wrote an article on orchids a few weeks ago. Just go to "Articles" and you will find it. Wish I had the nerve to try them. Itimidated by orchids.

LouC

LouC. don't be intiminated by orchids. They are some of the easiest things to grow! I have about 35 plants, mabe more, & have 7 blooming now. I have posted them on the Orchid Forum.

Desoto, TX(Zone 8a)

Thanks, Rene. Might be another challenge.

Christi

Wrightstown, NJ(Zone 7a)