Bromeliads

New Orleans, LA(Zone 9A)

How many of you grow any bromeliads? I've been growing them since 1975, often from seed, and at one time or another have grown nearly all the genera in cultivation. My favorites are the Tillandsias and Vrieseas - no spines!!! I'm very fond about growing them from seed and have just started doing that again after a 10 year hiatus where I grew only a few from seed.

They all seem to appreciate growing in a wire basket with cocofiber lining - the excellent drainage seems to make them happy. I often add some epiphytic cacti or Syngonium to present a variety of form in one basket.

Crestview, FL(Zone 7b)

Removed by member request

smithton, MO(Zone 5a)

i have got about 17 different broms, 2 tillandsias, and one crypt...im getting ready to do some trading for some broms, crypts and tillandsias...so i will soon have more...do either of you or anyone else for that matter know of a safe insecticide for broms?....something is having dinner, on my broms.....lol.....i think they are caterpillars or grasshoppers......any help is appreciated...oh im in missouri so all my broms get to come in for the winter.......i luv them soooooo very much, thats y i need to find out what to do about whats eating them.....cindy

Newberry, FL(Zone 9a)

HI all, Mz. Munchkin. ;o)
I also grow broms. I have been for oh...15 or 16 years now at least. The one safe insecticide I know of is Cygon 2-E. Stinks real bad, and is a systemic, so handle with care. It works well for scale. Grasshoppers will have already done the damage before it would affect them. I really don't know what would be best to keep them from chewing them up other than an enclosed growing area/bench. You might ask your local Agricultural Extension agent.
Good luck!
Robin

smithton, MO(Zone 5a)