Amaryllis Papillio Butterfly

Mableton, GA(Zone 7a)

I planted some of these bulbs last spring. I'm new to Amaryllis; these were sold to me off ebay as lilies. Anyway, a few scaggly, laying down, sprigs grew from them and died about 2 months later. Now I have leaves popping out of the ground just as it starts getting down to freezing nights here in ATL!

Should I just leave them alone and let nature take it's course? Are they forever out of sinc?

I LOVE the look of these. Any help will greatly be appreciated.

They're waking up! Repot them in a mix of 50% perlite/50% potting soil.
Butterfly Amaryllis are evergreen, so just keep watering them sparingly until they're settled in.
I'm not sure if they'll survive your winter outside, though.
Enjoy!

Fate, TX(Zone 8a)

gordo, do amaryllis live outside in 8a? i have a clown amaryllis in the ground for several years now. also, can you please describe for me exactly WHERE the neck is on an amaryllis? i am always confused. is the bulb entirely underground but just barely and only the "stem" part is out of the ground or do you actually leave the top part of the bulb out of the ground? i have some that have never bloomed that are in the ground. is it most likely that the soil is not rich enough? i never use fertilizers unless it's just some manure i throw on top of the ground. or is it the hard clay soil? they are in a "shaded" during short and varying periods throughout the day. please note that "shaded" means shaded for here. during intense summers they would get mostly sun.

Mableton, GA(Zone 7a)

I'm embarrassed to admit it, but I got my bulbs mixed up and the ones that are outside and popping up are actually either Oxblood lilies or Lilium Nepalense.

I even have bulbs I planted in the spring that I have not IDEA where I planted them! I need a better system!

Sorry for the delay replying - I've been ill.