My third year trying

Frisco, TX(Zone 7b)

I am going to sow some poppies - AGAIN.

This will be the third year trying. I have winter sowed, fall sowed, so-so'd ........ and failed miserably.

I believe one of the culprits has been bunnies, and that is something I have possibly taken care of. (fence and black lab)

But I am going to sow some in pots. Any help or suggestions?

Thanks
W J

Pretoria, South Africa

Hi W J,

I'm no expert as this was the first year for me, and even though I have a few plants getting ready to flower, it is not even close to the number of seeds I've sown! I would say about 5 %, germinated. I was hoping for a great show.... (By the way I direct sowed as I read somewhere they don't like being transplanted all that much.) I will keep an eye on you thread.

Elsa

Plano, TX

i live near you-plano-and am trying poppies for the first time --i plan to dirrect sow them but since you have not had any luck doing that i will be sure to plant another type of seed there too--the black lab should help a lot--and he will love getting to scare away any birds!! my son has a golden lab and we just love him!! (i meant the dog but then thought i might add we love my son too!!!!)

Frisco, TX(Zone 7b)

Well, like I said, I have tried and failed miserably multiple times.

I guess I am going to sow some in pots and some in the ground and some in the air and some by sea and .... well, you get the point :)

W J

Plano, TX

it's all trial and error for me!

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Poppies, I often wonder about them. Some are annuals, other biennuals, yet, there are perennuals poppies. Here in our hot/humid southern zone, I've known someone locally sowed them in the Falls and had great success. So, I asked with this particular Poppies that he grew, to find out those are biennuals. And yes, they're fuzzy when their root is being disturbed, thus make difficult to transplant. But most of the poppies seed packages say to sow them in Spring after last frost? What gives?