Overwintering question

Upstate, NY(Zone 5a)

Okay I'm new to this. When you put down the leaf mulch you just put it right down over the plants, foliage and all? I have been told it is okay to do my clean up in the spring but not everything was killed by last nights frost. Should I wait do put the mulch down until everything is gone or is it okay to do this now. And is the wind going to blow this right back into my yard or is there something I can do to prevent this??

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Those are good questions Debbie. I don't do it at all so maybe someone in the colder areas who does can chime in. I know for hydrangeas for example, if you want to protect them and increase your chance of bloom next year, you put chicken wire or something around it and cover the entire plant with the leaves.

Upstate, NY(Zone 5a)

Thanks Victor. I was thinking of doing the chicken wire cage for my roses. They are still blooming though. The frost didn't even wilt the blooms!! Most everything else turned to mush. I am planning on doing the roses and hydrangea's this weekend.

Sounds silly but I am so worried that my plants are going to die this winter and I will have to start all over again!! I know I will lose some, maybe, but to this newbie this is nerve wracking stuff!

Very doubtful that either one of those will die! What type of Hydrangea? Macrophylla? The big mophead ones? Roses are tough too.

Upstate, NY(Zone 5a)

Yes it is a macrophylla.

That's why Endless Summer and similar macros that bloom both on old and new wood are so popular. Guarantees at least some bloom.

Medway, MA(Zone 5b)