why are iris's blooming now?

Waukegan, IL(Zone 5a)

While out for a walk this week I saw a bearded iris in full bloom. As I passed it I thought how pretty it looked all covered in dark purple flowers and a few steps further I came to a screeching halt. (Well, I didn't actually screech.) What is a bearded iris doing blooming in October in Northern Illinois? It seems to be one of those old time tough as nails purple iris but I have never seen one bloom in the fall. Now I see others on this forum are showing their reblooming irises. Are they specific varieties or is the weather responsible?

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

I am no expert but the answer is both. Some iris rebloom, others don't. Weather definitely has something to do with it, if they are irises that rebloom. They tend to rebloom more in more southerly regions, but I, too, reside in zone 5a and have 1 rebloomer that actually reblooms. Very pleasant surprise. I am now adding other rebloomers to my garden. They are pretty whether they rebloom or not.

Kansas City (Joyce), MO(Zone 5a)

I am somewhere in zone 5 and have several rebloomers and really have pretty good luck. Not as many blooms as in spring but any bloom is appreciated in the fall. It sure confuses the folks I work with. LOL

Eau Claire, WI(Zone 4a)

It's partly the weather that's for sure. I have a very beautiful purple iris that is covered with buds on the verge of opening now. I posted a picture of the first one to open about a week ago. I noticed this evening that several more buds were starting to open. Looks like it will be quite a display, if we don't get any frost. (And yes, really am in Zone 4a). What a long strange fall it is this year.

Cedar Rapids, IA(Zone 5a)

I have planted 32 rebloomers over the years, but the most I've ever seen bloom was 6 clumps. I think my summers are a bit too short for the reblooming cycle. Most years, I only see Clarence TB, Immortality TB, Baby Blessed SDB and one historic purple .

Santa Ynez, CA

Hi All