Hi I'm very new in MO and need gardening advice!

Mexico, MO

We are rehabbing a historic building in a lovely part of Mexico, MO with lots of old historic homes. Its an apartment from the 1920s, a mix between Spanish (think KC Plaza) and Arts & Crafts. It has a large lot behind it that we plan to fence with iron fence and then plant. We also have the landscaping around the rest of the building to do.

So far I have put out 6 variegated rose barberries in places where they should fill in over time, and also have put junipers and daylillies and a yucca looking red grass in the formal planters.

In order to discourage people hanging around who shouldn't be near basement windows I want the plantings to be thorny but also attractive. I'm thinking of conifers for structure, rambling roses for ground cover and blooms, various kinds of yuccas, golden and red barberry, and maybe some ornamental grasses. For seasonal interest I envision various wildflowers springing up and reseeding.

That catch is that the landscaping that goes in must be pretty hardy, drought tolerant, and tough. I live and garden primarily in Texas, and although we are up a great deal, I really want to put the right plants and textures in place in the first place, and get them established, then let them grow without needing too much care.

We will be there next summer to live and work on the whole thing (and do some gardening of course). And we have great neighbors who have been kind enough to water in those barberry plants and keep the planters going when it was dry this past summer. . .