Storing potted perennials

Fair Grove, MO(Zone 6b)

I have lots of seedlings and small plants that need moved but I don't have the garden ready yet. I would like to pot them up so I would be able to trade them or plant them in the new part of the garden in early spring. I have a hoop house made outside next to the greenhouse. The HH won't be heated. What do I need to do? Should I mulch them to the top of the pot or what? I have never tried to do this before outside.

York, PA

I had luck last year with burying the pots to the brim and mulching. You can pull the pots out in the spring to plant them when your beds are ready. I'll be doing the same thing this year with my shrub seedlings that are still small. Good luck!

Joanne

Fair Grove, MO(Zone 6b)

Did you just set them out in the outside or did you use some kind of shelter for them. I have a small hoophouse I thought about putting it on the south side of the GH and storing the perennials in it with or without a clear cover, I have a tarp on it now until the little guys get over transplant shock and start doing something. I don't want them all to get sunburned and die. I have some Beautyberry bushes that were started seeds about early to mid August and they won't survive this winter outside. I was thinking about putting them in a hoophouse with a clear cover.

York, PA

I just kept them uncovered outside to fend for themselves. They were all winter sown so they seemed to be tough little buggers. I also have beautyberry seedlings that are still tiny. I plan to do my usual burying and mulching and just keep my fingers crossed. I was pleasantly surprised how well seedlings overwintered for me last year.

Joanne

Fair Grove, MO(Zone 6b)