Any tips on getting Mums to survive the winter?

Cedar Springs, MI(Zone 5b)

Seem like only a small percentage of the Mums I plant in the Fall come back.
Any advise appreciated.

Highland Heights, KY(Zone 6a)

Make sure they're hardy garden mums, not florist mums, which are not winter-hardy. And plant in the ground, not in a container, then mulch before it gets cold. I'm no expert, but that's what little I know! Hope it helps.

This message was edited Sep 24, 2007 7:43 PM

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

Cottage_Rose, there is a definite divide between orthern Mums and Southern and Florist mums.

When you buy them, potted, look for new growth at the base, this is the kind that is more likely to come back in the spring.

I have heard that they are more likely to come back in the spring if you pant them immediately in the garden, and if you do NOT cut back the dead growth. Leaves and debris should blow into your gaden eand get caught by the dead growth and that is their airy, loose mulch for the season. I am trying both things, but as I said, these are things I heard (read) so I don't know if they are true.

I think the new growth at the base is the better indicator.

Suzy

Seymour, IN

Most hardy mums sold today, are not very hardy. The breeders care more about color ,size and form. Hardiness has largely been forgoten.

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

There was a mum co-op a little bit ago and you could tell by the prices (.50 per plug) that they must by and large be considered a throw away plant at the end of the flowering period.

They were from Faribault in Minnesota--would those be considered hardy? A couple of the ones I got are supposed to be the Football corsage type mums which aren't really my thing--are those considered florist mums?

New addictions lead to many new questions:LOL:

LOL! Or else they are just so darn easy to propagate.