Winter Protection for New Rhododendron?

Long Island, NY(Zone 7a)

Hello, I'm new to the Rhododendron board. I just bought and planted a small rhododendron--just about 10 to 12 inches high. Is there anything I should do over the winter this first year? It's so small, I can't imagine it making it through winter alive. Our first frost isn't due for another several weeks, so hopefully it will have time to get established before then. Any advice you can give is appreciated!

Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

To insure that a plant has the ability to make it through the winter, it must be dormant. Dormancy is a normal process in which the plant goes into "sleep" during the winter and is caused by a number of things like shorter days, low temperatures and drought. Several things can break or prevent dormancy.

1. Too much nitrogen fertilizer after mid summer (July-August) will keep a plant in a growth state when it should be going into dormancy.
2. Warm weather spells during the winter (or early spring) can break dormancy in a plant that has gone dormant. If the warm weather is followed by another cold sub-freezing spell, that can cause the bark to split when the sap starts to flow and then freezes suddendly. Apply some grafting wax asap as untreated bark split is often fatal.
3. A warm fall -followed by a sudden winter- can expose a plant to the cold before it has gone dormant.

The last suggestions: make sure that the plant has 3-4 inches of mulch past the drip line. Water during dry winters if your soil does not freeze.

Does that help you?
Luis

This message was edited Sep 16, 2007 3:49 AM

Caldwell, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hi Karen,